Letting Go

320px-Blown_dandelions,_green_backgroundThe past few months have been difficult. Too many things happening at once made it harder for me to stay focused. My mind was filled with non-stop chatter. So I decided it was time to work a little harder at getting quiet. It’s one of the hardest things to do, because worry and negativity take center stage.

At times I wanted to sink my teeth into a big piece of chocolate frosted cake, a pint of ice cream or a bag of candy. A friend who is also going through a bad time was doing the same. We would sit and discuss what we were dealing with and eat all the wrong things. The good thing is that were able to acknowledge that we were stress eating. We laughed about it, and then vowed to handle things differently.

Also the weather hasn’t helped. It’s been a long winter. Lots of snow is still on the ground where I live and the skies have been gray more often than not. People are antsy, they’re eager for spring to start.

This week I learned to turn away from worries and negative thoughts. It takes work. But I have noticed that the more I do it, the easier it’s becoming. I’m able to see the humor in so many things and I have found myself laughing. I’ve given myself permission to relax and play. As adults we forget that playing is important. We think its kid’s stuff. But the more we play the more creative we become. We’re lighter emotionally and playing is a healthy way to relieve stress.

I’ve found that I’m beginning to focus on what I want to create—like sketching and tackling half-written stories. More ideas are percolating and I’m paying close attention to them. I’m learning not to think about the “hows.” I’m just doing. Now I take the time to breath and release the bad stuff.

How do you handle stress? Have you ever found yourself stress eating?

Leave a Reply

